Michigan State University
Michigan State University
Department of Writing, Rhetoric, and American Cultures
Graduate Faculty
Home > Graduate Programs > Graduate Faculty


RHETORIC & WRITING GRADUATE FACULTY

                             
 

 

 

 

   Arola 175.jpg            

BakerBell-April1.jpg

          Blythe square.jpg      
      Kristin Arola
Associate Professor
arola@msu.edu

Research Areas: Digital Rhetoric, American Indian Rhetoric, Multimodal Composition

 
    April Baker-Bell
Assistant Professor
adbell@msu.edu

Research Areas: Black Language & Literacies; Culturally Responsible & Sustaining Pedagogy; English (Teacher) Education; critically conscious research

 
   Stuart Blythe
Associate Professor
blythes@msu.edu

Research Areas: administration and curriculum; theories of learning; rhetoric, science, and technology 

 
   
                             
     

Dejoy_Nancy.jpg

     

DeVoss_Danielle.jpg

     

Fraiberg_Steve.jpg 

     
       Nancy C. DeJoy
Associate Professor
Director of Academic Assessment Initiatives, College of Arts and Letters
dejoy@msu.edu

Research Areas: Assessment, Composition Pedagogy, feminism, first-year writing

 

 
    Dànielle Nicole DeVoss
Professor
Associate Chair and Director of Graduate Programs
devossda@msu.edu

Research Areas: Computer/technological literacies; digital-visual rhetorics; social and cultural entrepreneurship; innovation and creativity; and intellectual property issues in digital space

 
 

Steven Fraiberg 
Assistant Professor
sfraibe2@gmail.com

Research Areas: Globalization in Higher Education and Workplaces, Startup Entrepreneurs and Innovation Systems, Composition Studies, Multi-Translingualism

 
   
                             
      grabill_Jeff.jpg      

Halbritter_Bump.jpg

      hart-davidson.png       
      Jeff Grabill
Professor
grabill@msu.edu

Research Areas: Professional and Technical Writing; Community Literacy; Informal Learning; Rhetorical Theory

 
 

Bump Halbritter
Associate Professor
Director of First Year Writing
drbump@msu.edu

Research Areas: audio-visual media in research, audio-visual rhetoric, literacy, writing pedagogy

  
 

William Hart-Davidson 
Associate Professor
Associate Dean of Graduate Education
hartdav2@msu.edu

Research Areas: Digital Humanities, Experience Architecture, Technical Writing, Computational Rhetoric

  
   
                             
      Hidalgo 175.jpg      

Julier-laura.jpg

      Elizabeth LaPensee Square.jpg       
      Alexandra Hidalgo
Assistant Professor

hidalgo5@msu.edu

Research Areas: Film and Video Production, Documentary, Memoir, Cultural Rhetorics, Feminism, Immigration, Social Media, Digital Spaces and Publication
 
 

Laura Julier 
Associate Professor

julier@msu.edu

Research Areas: Literary/creative nonfiction, editing and publishing, community service learning

  
 

Elizabeth LaPensée 
Assistant Professor
odamino@msu.edu

Research Areas: Indigenous Studies, Game Studies, Game Development, Comics

  
   
                             
      Lauren_Ben.jpg        Limbu1.jpg        Lindquist_Julie.jpg      
      Ben Lauren
Assistant Professor
blauren@msu.edu

Research Areas: User Experience, Professional and Technical Communication, Social and Cultural Entrepreneurship, Critical Management Studies, Service Design, Sound Studies 
 

Marohang Limbu 
Associate Professor

limbu@msu.edu

Research Areas: Kirat rhetorics, global indigenous rhetorics, cross-cultural/intercultural/inter-epistemic rhetorics, cloud- and crowd pedagogies

  
 

Julie Lindquist 
Professor

Graduate Faculty
lindqu11@msu.edu

Research Areas: cultural rhetorics, literacy, qualitative methods, wriitng pedagogy

  
   
                             
      Monberg_John.jpg      

Monberg 175.jpg

     

Opel_dawn_square.jpg 

 

 

 

      John Monberg
Assistant Professor
jmonberg@msu.edu

Research Areas: cultural rhetorics, digital rhetoric, public deliberation 
 

Terese Guinsatao Monberg
Associate Professor
tmonberg@msu.edu

  
 

Dawn Opel 
Assistant Professor

opeldawn@msu.edu

Research Areas: Rhetoric of health and medicine, experience architecture, community literacy, technical and professional writing, feminist and activist research methodologies

  
   
                             
       Potts-Liza1.jpg      

Powell_Malea.jpg

     

Rhodes 175.jpg 

     
      Liza Potts
Associate Professor
lpotts@msu.edu

Research Areas: Experience Architecture, Participatory Memory, Digital Rhetoric, Disaster Studies, Fan Studies

 

 
 

Malea Powell 
Professor and Department Chair
powell37@msu.edu

Research Areas: Indigenous rhetorics, cultural rhetorics, rhetorical theory, rhetoric history, decolonial rhetorics, digital publishing, diverse & inclusive curriculum design, administrative work as intellectual practice, leadership development

  
 

Jacqueline Rhodes
Professor
jrhodes@msu.edu

Research Areas: Multimodality, digital rhetorics, feminist/queer rhetorics

  
   
     

 

                       
      Ristich 175.jpg      

Ritz_John.jpg

     

Smith_Trixie.jpg

     
      Michael Ristich
Academic Specialist
ristich@msu.edu

Research Areas: Rhetorical Theory, Critical Theory, Pedagogy, Radical Politics

 

 
 

Jonathan Ritz
Assistant Professor
ritz@msu.edu

Research Areas: Creative nonfiction, video essay, peace and justice studies

  
 

Trixie Smith  
Associate Professor
smit1254@msu.edu

Research Areas: Writing Centers, Queer Rhetorics, Pedagogy, Embodiment, Community Composing

  
   

AFFILIATE FACULTY

                             
 

 

 

 

   Baldwin 175.jpg            

Spartan-helmet-Green.gif

          Cheatle 175.jpg      
   

Dianna Baldwin 
Assistant Professor

Associate Director of the Writing Center
baldw145@msu.edu

Research Areas: Writing Centers, Cultural Rhetorics, Comics

 
    Tamara Butler
Assistant Professor
Department of English
African American and African Studies
tbutler@msu.edu 
 

 Joseph Cheatle
Associate Director of the Writing Center
cheatlej@msu.edu

 Research Areas: Writing Center Studies, Digital Composition, and Writing Program Administration

 
   
                             
     

Spartan-helmet-Green.gif

     

Miner 175.jpg

     

 Rehberger 175.jpg

     
       Mary Juzwik
Professor
English and Teacher Education
mmjuzwik@msu.edu

 

 
    Dylan Miner
Associate Professor
Residential College in the Arts and Humanities
Director of the American Indian Studies Program
dminer@msu.edu 
 

Dean Rehberger
Director of MATRIX

Interim Chair of Sociology
Associate Professor in Department of History
rehberge@msu.edu

 
   
                             
      Schopeiray 175.jpg      

Sheridan 175.jpg

      Estrella-Torrez_J.jpg       
      Scott Schopieray
Assistant Dean for Academic and Research Technology
MSU College of Arts and Letters
schopie1@msu.edu

Areas of specialization: online teaching and learning, technology integration into organizations, and faculty development 
 

Dave Sheridan
Associate Professor
Residential College in the Arts and Humanities

sherid16@msu.edu

  
 

J. Estrella Torrez 
Associate Professor

torrezjs@msu.edu

Research Areas: community literacy, critical pedagogy, indigenous rhetorics, Latina rhetorics