WRAC is home to faculty representing a robust range of academic and professional activities and who have received institutional, national, and international recognition.

Institutional Awards

A woman in a black shirt with black glasses and necklace and blonde hair.

Dr. Nancy DeJoy

Distinguished Partnership Award for Community-Engaged Creative Activity, Michigan State University:

This award recognizes community collaborations that focus on opening spaces for voices that we need to listen to as we turn our hope for equity and social justice into inclusive action.

woman with short hair, wearing glasses and long blue earrings, smiling

Dr. Denise Troutman

Excellence in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Award:

The individual Excellence in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Awards  recognize the emerging and/or sustained efforts made toward advancing diversity, equity, and inclusion in thematic categories, including excellence in diversity, equity, and inclusion; advancing knowledge and scholarly engagement; fostering engagement, collaboration(s), and partnership(s); advocating justice and equity; promoting learning and educating for inclusivity; and creating transformative organization change.

man with glasses smiling

Dr. Bill Hart-Davidson

William J. Beal Outstanding Faculty Award:

Faculty are honored with the William J. Beal Outstanding Faculty Award for their comprehensive and sustained record of scholarly excellence in research and/or creative activities, instruction, and outreach.

woman with short brown and gray hair smiling

Dr. Trixie Smith

Faculty Leadership Award:

The Faculty Leadership Award “rewards faculty who demonstrate outstanding leadership — the kind who go beyond the performance of routine tasks, are generous in sharing insights, and provide the hard work and mentoring that creates vision and excellence in programs and departments.”

National Awards

man, smiling, in front of bookshelves

Dr. Marohang Limbu

The Bishnudatta-Saraswati Academic Award for Delinking, Relinking, and Linking Writing and Rhetoric: Inventions and Interventions of Sirijanga Syllabry:

This award, established in 2017, encourages and honors individuals, groups, or organizations who play an important role in publishing works based on in-depth research on the Yakthung language, culture, history, Indigenous knowledge, politics, and social issues in Nepal and India.

mans, smiling, standing in front of wall covered in sticky notes

Dr. Casey McArdle

Co-winner of the 2020 Computers and Composition Distinguished Book Award:

“The recognition of this award speaks to our efforts to support every teacher who wants students to have an engaging online experience.”

-Dr. Casey McArdle

woman with long blonde hair and glasses; woman with short brown and gray hair; bald man wearing glasses

FYW Program: Dr. Julie Lindquist, Dr. Joyce Meier, Dr. Mike Ristich

National Certificate of Excellence:

Established in 2004, the CCCC Writing Program Certificate of Excellence honors up to 20 writing programs per year, recognizing programs that imaginatively address the needs and opportunities of students, instructors, institution, and locale; that demonstrate current best practices in the field and effective placement procedures; and that model diversity and/or serve diverse communities.