Michigan State University
Michigan State University
Department of Writing, Rhetoric, and American Cultures
Faculty
Home > People > Faculty


 
 
 

WRAC FACULTY

                     
    Acevedo_Denise.png   

Arola 175.jpg

 
     Denise Acevedo
Assistant Professor
acevedo@msu.edu



Research Areas: margianalized students; motivational rhetoric; faculty development

    Kristin Arola
Associate Professor
Graduate Faculty
arola@msu.edu

Research Areas: Digital Rhetoric, American Indian Rhetoric, Multimodal Composition  
 
                     
    BakerBell-April1.jpg  

Baldwin 175.jpg

 
    April Baker-Bell
Assistant Professor
Graduate Faculty
adbell@msu.edu

Research Areas: Black Language & Literacies; Culturally Responsible & Sustaining Pedagogy; English (Teacher) Education; critically conscious research 
    Dianna Baldwin
Associate Director
Graduate Faculty
baldw145@msu.edu

Research Areas: Writing Centers, Cultural Rhetorics, Comics  
 
                     
    Birdsall 175.jpg   

Lorelei Blackburn thumb.jpg

 
     Kate Birdsall
Assistant Professor
birdsal5@msu.edu

Research Areas: empathy, cultural rhetorics, digital publishing, creative writing pedagogy 
    Lorelei Blackburn
Instructor
lorelei@msu.edu

Research Areas: Service Learning, Community Literacy, Pedagogy
 
                     
    Blythe square.jpg     Bresnahan_Roger 175.jpg     
     Stuart Blythe
Associate Professor
Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies
Graduate Faculty
blythes@msu.edu

Research Areas: administration and curriculum; theories of learning; rhetoric, science, and technology  
    Roger Bresnahan
Professor; Fulbright Program Advisor
bresnaha@msu.edu



Research Areas:
Cultural Rhetorics
  
 
                     
    Bunge_Nancy.png   

Caesar_Cheryl.png 

 
     Nancy Bunge
Professor
bunge@msu.edu

Research Areas: Writing, American Literature 
    Cheryl Caesar 
Assistant Professor
caesarc@msu.edu

Research Areas: Comparative literature, culture studies, cultrually-sustaining pedagogies 
 
                     
    Joseph Cheatle small.jpg   

Cheu_Johnson.jpg

 
     Joseph Cheatle
Associate Director of the Writing Center
Graduate Faculty
cheatlej@msu.edu

Research Areas: Writing Center Studies, Digital Composition, and Writing Program Administration 
    Johnson Cheu
Assistant Professor
cheu@msu.edu



Research Areas: Cultural studies, Disability Studies, Media Studies, Visual Rhetorics  
 
                     
    WRAC Logo Small.jpg   

Dejoy_Nancy.jpg

 
     Yuanfang Dai
Assistant Professor
daiyuanf@msu.edu



Research Areas:
feminist philosophy, ethics, and social and political philosophy
 
    Nancy C. DeJoy
Associate Professor, Director of Academic Assessment Initiatives, College of Arts and Letters
Graduate Faculty
dejoy@msu.edu

Research Areas: Assessment, Composition Pedagogy, feminism, first-year writing 
 
                     
    DeVoss_Danielle.jpg   

Fedewa_Kate.jpg

 
     Dànielle Nicole DeVoss
Professor, Associate Chair
Director of the Graduate Program
Graduate Faculty
devossda@msu.edu

Research Areas: Computer/technological literacies; digital-visual rhetorics; social and cultural entrepreneurship; innovation and creativity; and intellectual property issues in digital space
 

Kate Fedewa 
Assistant Professor
fedewak3@msu.edu



Research Areas: Literacy and identity, game studies, history of rhetoric, student-centered pedagogy

 
                     
    Fraiberg_Steve.jpg   

Gardner_Penny.jpg  

 
     Steven Fraiberg
Assistant Professor
Graduate Faculty
sfraibe2@gmail.com

Research Interests: Globalization in Higher Education and Workplaces, Startup Entrepreneurs and Innovation Systems, Composition Studies, Multi-Translingualism 
   Penny Gardner
Assistant Professor
gardne45@msu.edu


Research Areas: Collective consciousness,feminism, gender identity,politics, sexual orientation  
 
                     
    Glasby_Hillery.jpg     Gomes_Matt 175.jpg     
     Hillery Glasby
Assistant Professor
glasbyhi@msu.edu

Research Areas: Queer Rhetoric; Visual, Digital, and DIY/Craft Rhetorics; Queer and Feminist Pedagogies; Writing Center and Writing Program Administration 
 

Matt Gomes
Assistant Professor
gomesmat@msu.edu

Research Areas: Writing Assessment, program assessment, pedagogy, sonic rhetoric

  
 
                     
    grabill_Jeff.jpg   

Hadley_Kathy.jpg

 
     Jeff Grabill
Professor
Graduate Faculty
grabill@msu.edu

Research Areas: Professional and Technical Writing; Community Literacy; Informal Learning; Rhetorical Theory 
   Kathy Hadley
Assistant Professor
hadleyk@msu.edu


Research Areas: Learner-centered teaching, Study Abroad, women in America  
 
                     
    Halbritter_Bump.jpg   

hart-davidson.png  

 
     Bump Halbritter
Associate Professor
Director of First Year Writing
Graduate Faculty
drbump@msu.edu


Research Areas: audio-visual media in research, audio-visual rhetoric, literacy, writing pedagogy 
    William Hart-Davidson
Associate Professor
Associate Dean of Graduate Education
Graduate Faculty
hartdav2@msu.edu

Research Areas: Digital Humanities, Experience Architecture, Technical Writing, Computational Rhetoric
 
                     
    Hidalgo 175.jpg   

Houghton_Kathryn.jpg

 
 

Alexandra Hidalgo 
Assistant Professor
Documentary Production Minor Core Faculty
Graduate Faculty
hidalgo5@msu.edu

Research Areas: Film and Video Production, Documentary, Memoir, Cultural Rhetorics, Feminism, Immigration, Social Media, Digital Spaces and Publication

    Kathryn Houghton
Academic Specialist
hought34@msu.edu  
 
                     
    Julier-laura.jpg   

Elizabeth LaPensee Square.jpg

 
     Laura Julier
Associate Professor
Graduate Faculty
julier@msu.edu

Research Areas: Literary/creative nonfiction, editing and publishing, community service learning 
   Elizabeth LaPensée
Associate Professor
Graduate Faculty
odamino@msu.edu

Research Areas: Indigenous Studies, Game Studies, Game Development, Comics 
 
                     
    Lauren_Ben.jpg   

Li_Xinqiang.jpg

 
     Ben Lauren
Assistant Professor
Graduate Faculty
blauren@msu.edu

Research Areas: User Experience, Professional and Technical Communication, Social and Cultural Entrepreneurship, Critical Management Studies, Service Design, Sound Studies 
    Xinqiang Li
Assistant Professor
xqli@msu.edu


Research Areas: Intercultural Rhetoric, Second Language Writing, Curriculum Design, Studies in Prose Style 
 
                     
    Limbu1.jpg   

Lindquist_Julie.jpg

 
     Marohang Limbu
Associate Professor
Graduate Faculty
limbu@msu.edu

Research Areas: Kirat rhetorics, global indigenous rhetorics, cross-cultural/intercultural/inter-epistemic rhetorics, cloud- and crowd pedagogies 
   Julie Lindquist
Professor
Graduate Faculty
lindqu11@msu.edu

Research Areas: cultural rhetorics, literacy, qualitative methods, wriitng pedagogy  
 
                     
    Livingston_Kathleen1.jpg   

madrigal_aaron.jpg

 
     Kathleen Livingston
Assistant Professor
living32@msu.edu

Research Areas: First-year Writing, Consent Education, Queer Feminist Rhetorics, Community-based Pedagogies & Methodologies, Nonfiction Writing 
   Aaron Madrigal
Assistant Professor
aaronm@msu.edu

Research Areas: first-year writing, the novel  
 
                     
    Mcardle 175.jpg   

McKinnon_Sara.jpg

 
     Casey McArdle
Assistant Professor
Experience Architecture Program Liaison
cmcardle@msu.edu

Research Areas: distance education; instructional design; experience architecture; rhetorical theory; professional and technical writing 
    Sara McKinnon
Assistant Professor
mckin159@msu.edu



Research Areas: composition, creative nonfiction, first-year writing, gender studies 
 
                     
    Meier_Joyce 175.jpg   

Miles_Casey.jpg

 
     Joyce Meier
Assistant Director of the First-Year Writing Program
meierjo@msu.edu

Research Areas: Translingualism and transcultural rhetorics, community writing, creative non-fiction
    Casey Miles
Assistant Professor
milescas@msu.edu


Research Areas:
Queer rhetorics, multimodal composition, digital rhetoric, cultural rhetorics, digital video
 
 
                     
    Monberg_John.jpg   

WRAC Logo Small.jpg

 
     John Monberg
Assistant Professor
Graduate Faculty
jmonberg@msu.edu

Research Areas: cultural rhetorics, digital rhetoric, public deliberation 
    Margaret Morris
Assistant Professor
msmorris@msu.edu


Research Areas: Collaboration, History of Rhetoric, Salon Movements, Editorial role/editing, Travel Writing, Photojournalism  
 
                     
    Opel_dawn_square.jpg   

Potts-Liza1.jpg

 
    Dawn Opel
Assistant Professor
Graduate Faculty
opeldawn@msu.edu


Research Areas: Rhetoric of health and medicine, experience architecture, community literacy, technical and professional writing, feminist and activist research methodologies 
    Liza Potts
Associate Professor
Director of WIDE Research
Graduate Faculty
lpotts@msu.edu

Research Areas: Experience Architecture, Participatory Memory, Digital Rhetoric, Disaster Studies, Fan Studies 
 
                     
    Powell_Malea.jpg   

Quinn_Carol.jpg

 
     Malea Powell
Professor, Department Chair
American Indian Studies Program
Graduate Faculty
powell37@msu.edu

Research Areas: Indigenous rhetorics, cultural rhetorics, rhetorical theory, rhetoric history, decolonial rhetorics, digital publishing, diverse & inclusive curriculum design, administrative work as intellectual practice, leadership development 
    Carol Quinn
Assistant Professor
cquinn@msu.edu  
 
                     
    Rauscher_Delores square.jpg   

Rhodes 175.jpg

 
     Delores Byrum Rauscher
Instructor
rausche5@msu.edu



Research Areas: Teaching Higher Ed, Writing and Critical Reasoning 
    Jacqueline Rhodes
Professor
Director, CEDAR
Graduate Faculty
jrhodes@msu.edu

Research Areas: Multimodality, digital rhetorics, feminist/queer rhetorics 
 
     

 

             
    Ristich 175.jpg      

Ritz_John.jpg

     
   Michael Ristich

Academic Specialist
Graduate Faculty
ristich@msu.edu


Research Areas: Rhetorical Theory, Critical Theory, Pedagogy, Radical Politics
 

   Jonathan Ritz
Assistant Professor
Graduate Faculty
ritz@msu.edu


Research Areas: Creative nonfiction, video essay, peace and justice studies 
  
 
                     
  WRAC Logo Small.jpg    

Smith_Trixie.jpg

 
  Matthew Rossi
Assistant Professor
mrossi@msu.edu



Research Areas: Maker Culture, Multiliteracies, Ecocriticism, Citizen Science, Creative Writing, Writing Center Administration, Comics
  Trixie Smith
Director of The Writing Center
Assistant Professor
Graduate Faculty
smit1254@msu.edu

Research Areas: Writing Centers, Queer Rhetorics, Pedagogy, Embodiment, Community Composing
 
                     
    Clayton Tarr.jpg   

Estrella-Torrez_J.jpg  

 
    Clayton Tarr
Assistant Professor
tarrclay@msu.edu


Research Areas: British and American Literature, Composition and Rhetoric
  J. Estrella Torrez
Assistant Professor
Graduate Faculty
torrezjs@msu.edu

Research Areas: community literacy, critical pedagogy, indigenous rhetorics, Latina rhetorics
 
                     
    VanDonkelaar_Curtis.jpeg  

WRAC Logo Small.jpg

 
    Curtis VanDonkelaar
Assistant Professor
vandonkc@msu.edu

Research Areas:
Creative Writing, Editing and Publishing, Midwestern Culture and Literature  
  Xiqiao Wang
Assistant Professor
wangx14@msu.edu

Research Areas: Transnational literacy, digital literacy, translingual pedagogy, multimodal composition   
 
                 
     Wojcik_Michael.jpg            
    Michael Wojcik
Instructor
wojcikm4@msu.edu

Research Areas: computational rhetoric, critical and rhetorical theory